7 comments on “Merry New Year!

  1. Assistance please.
    I happen to have a Sony A7s,
    An Astro-tech A65
    An Advanced VX mount…..though I’m extremely new to the astro sports, I’ve yet to even attempt to align or image.
    But when I do why not give the A7s a go πŸ™‚
    BUT BUT BUT what intervalometer are you using?
    Thanks for clues.
    Robert

  2. Goodonya for posting back–so quickly πŸ™‚
    When I Googled PHDMax I came up with PHD Guiding, same thing?
    And more importantly what cable connecting your laptop (running said PHDMax) to the A7s.
    One thing I’m learning so quickly about astrophotography is that is is so all about parts and pieces and putting them all together!
    Sincere thanks for the tidbits….promise not to wear my welcome bare.

  3. Ooooops forgot something rather important…..the Sony apps. If I am just nabbing a lot of exposures to later stack can I not use the Sony Timelapse App ??
    Surely there is a huge advantage to the PHDGuiding/Max, dithering maybe (like I know what that is at this point in the game Ha!)

    • Hi Robert, no PHDMax is a separate camera controller for the Sony, but it can interface with PHD to perform dithering. Oh dear, you do have a rather steep learning curve don’t you! Oh well, you can always pop in here for some advice!

      Yes, AP seems to primarily consist of constantly acquiring accessories! Just use the A7s supplied mini USB cable with a good quality extender.

      Yes you could use the Sony timelapse app, as a beginner, but once you want to go longer than 30 seconds (believe me, you will!), the app will be useless as it can’t go past 30 secs (thankyou Sony…)

  4. Funny, when I google PHDMax software I find nothing ??
    Oh yes, being an A7r/A7s/A6000/Rx100iii owner I fully understand how Sony gives us the world but keeps it just out of reach 😦
    Speaking of parts/pieces, a StarSense just arrive….now that it is here I have to wonder why! Possibly it will allow 3-4 minutes subs….and having said that I’ll let you know PHD Guiding and EOS Backyard are already on the laptop.
    Simmon I don’t know your location (will have to study your blog more) but where I am the eternal challenge is always clouds, clouds and more clouds. During out winter we went over 5 months with either snow/sleet/rain/clouds with only 4 clear day/nights……so I do wonder of futility.

    So even with the odds stacked against we installed a pier for the mount…next step in that vain is running electrical to the house.
    It never ends but at my age I’ve read that puzzles like this help slow/prevent Alzheimer’s….in that case I need all the puzzles I can muster.

  5. I’m wondering why the M42 you showed earlier used 15s as his optimal exposure time which seems to be against your test result.

    I suspect the optimal exposure time depends on the amount light gathered for each single exposure. Provided the ISO is above 3200, as A7s seems switching to a higher on-sensor gain from 3200 onwards and the gain virtually stays there. Check this out: http://www.lonelyspeck.com/sony-a7s-astrophotography-review/
    Therefore, the optimal time should depend largely on aperture, but f1.9 vs f3.3 still cannot fully explain the 15s vs a couple of minutes?

Leave a Reply

